Skip to main content
This section is included in your selections.

A. The Mayor will designate the Committee chairperson and vice-chairperson annually by the second Monday of July of each year.

B. The members of the Committee will adopt rules for the administration and proper functioning of the Committee. Any rule adopted must be consistent with the laws of the State, the Charter of the City, and the ordinances of the City.

C. One half of the membership of the Committee constitutes a quorum for conducting Committee business.

D. The affirmative vote of a majority of the members present is necessary to pass any proposed motion. Committee members must vote on all issues placed before the Committee. A failure to vote or a voluntary abstention is counted as an "aye" vote unless the member refrains from voting as required by Section 38-503, Arizona Revised Statutes. In case of a tie in votes on any motion, the motion is defeated.

E. The Committee may appoint subcommittees as the Committee deems necessary.

F. The Council may remove a Committee member from the Committee if the member is absent from three consecutive regular meetings of the Committee.

G. The Committee and its members may not incur any expense on behalf of the City, and the City is not obligated for any expense incurred by any member of the Committee on behalf of the Committee, unless the expense is expressly authorized by action of the Council. (Ord. No. G-6741, § 2 (Exh. A), 2020)